Fall 2013


The faculty, staff, students, and alumni, of the School of Criminal Justice are proud of our legacy of leadership in criminal justice.  As you enjoy this newsletter, evidence of this legacy and continued excellence will be apparent in the awards and recognition of our faculty, students, and alumni.  It is also clear through the most recent additions to our Wall of Fame.

The Wall of Fame has become an important celebration of the School. Just like our faculty and students are leaders, so too are our alumni. This year the School inducted seven Distinguished Alumni into the Wall of Fame. The inductees included the late Richard Bernitt, former director of MSU Public Safety, Robert Corso, Special Agent in Charge, DEA -Detroit Field office, John Donovan, retired Chief of Police, Troy Police Department, Daniel Heyns, Director of Michigan Department of Corrections, Beth Huebner, Associate Professor at the University of Missouri-St. Louis, Patricia Nowak, Chief of Police, Indiana University Northwest, and Darrell Ross, Director of Sociology, Anthropology and Criminal Justice at Valdosta State University.  We also had the pleasure of inducting our own Distinguished Faculty member, Dr. Tim Bynum.

For the first time, and due to the efforts of our Alumni Board, the Wall of Fame ceremony included an opportunity to recognize our Fallen Heroes who gave their lives in the line of duty. We are humbled by these alumni for their service to their communities and their fellow human beings.  They are true heroes.

Finally, thanks to the tremendous effort of our staff and faculty, I am pleased to announce that we have launched our new website that offers easy navigation to research, undergraduate and graduate studies, online graduate programs, upcoming events, news, and much more. I would also encourage you to visit our new Wall of Fame and Public Safety Memorial web pages to learn more about all of our exceptional honorees.

-Ed McGarrell, Director