Faculty receive ACJS mentorship awards

Photo of Joe HammPhoto of Sanja KutnjakPhoto of Edmund McGarrellThe Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences has recognized three SCJ faculty members with mentorship awards.

Professor Ed McGarrell  is the recipient of the ACJS Outstanding Mentor Award. The award recognizes “outstanding mentors who during the course of their career have made a significant contribution to the professional development of graduate students and junior faculty members in criminal justice.” According to ACJS, “These outstanding mentors will be honored in recognition of the recipient’s excellence in the role of student/faculty mentor as evidenced by their willingness and commitment to foster the professional growth and achievement of students and faculty.”

Professor Sanja Kutnjak and Assistant Professor Joe Hamm are recipients of the Minority Mentorship Grant Award. The award was created to provide opportunities for mentorship of minority doctoral students or junior faculty by senior criminal justice professors, and to foster professional development and a productive academic career.